19.01.2021
Meetrics Viewability Benchmarks Q4/2020: Video viewability takes hit during end-of-year rush

The average viewability rate of video ads dropped significantly in the last quarter. Meanwhile, display ad viewability remained largely unchanged.

Berlin, January 18th, 2021 - Towards the end of a turbulent year of crisis, the international average video viewability rate fell below 90 percent to now 86 percent. Display ads have again been slightly less visible than in the previous quarter. This is the result of the latest "Viewability Benchmarks" report published by Meetrics, the leading European measurement and analytics company for digital advertising. The benchmark report also includes a detailed overview of individual ad formats and benchmarks for other markets. The report shows common reasons for lack of visibility by percentage distribution as well as what positive and negative trends need to be taken into account on the different markets. Non-optimal positioning continues to be the most common reason for lacking ad viewability.

“Even though media usage rose in 2020, placements with high viewability rates were still in short supply. A substantial amount of video ads being placed in non-premium inventory leaving some advertiser’s expectations unmet during the end-of-year rush. If brand campaigns shall reliably deliver their ad messaging in times of a strong demand for media inventory, then ad verification methods need to be amplified accordingly" explains Philipp von Hilgers, Managing Director and Co-Founder of Meetrics.

The complete Viewability Benchmarks, including a detailed list of different banner formats, are available to download for free. In the quarterly reports, Meetrics provides an overview of Viewability rates and average Viewability duration. The basis for Meetrics' Viewability Benchmarks is the "50/1" guideline of the IAB and the Media Rating Council (MRC). Accordingly, at least 50 percent of the advertising space must have been in the visible area of the browser for at least one continuous second. For video ads, the recommendation is "50/2", which means the video ad must have been visible for at least two seconds with at least 50 percent of its area.

Download Press release

Any questions?

Meetrics GmbH – Headquarters Berlin
Alexanderstraße 7 · DE-10178 Berlin

pr@meetrics.com

Contact Us

19.01.2021
Meetrics Viewability Benchmarks Q4/2020: Durchschnittliche Sichtbarkeitsraten von Display- und Videowerbung sinken auf Jahrestiefstand

Im vierten Quartal nahm die Sichtbarkeitsrate für Display-Werbung deutlich ab, am drastischsten bei mobilen Umfeldern. Bei Video-Werbung setzt sich der Abwärtstrend fort und erreicht einen Jahrestiefstand.

Berlin, 18. Januar 2021 – Im Jahresendgeschäft sank die durchschnittliche Sichtbarkeit von Display-Anzeigen um fünf Prozent auf 59 Prozent. Auch Video-Werbung verzeichnete erneut ein leichten Rückgang um ein Prozent. Zu diesem Ergebnis kommt der aktuelle Viewability Benchmark Report des führenden europäischen Mess- und Analyseunternehmens Meetrics. Der Benchmark-Report beinhaltet darüber hinaus eine detaillierte Übersicht zu einzelnen Ad-Formaten und Benchmarks für weitere Märkte. In dem Benchmark-Report werden auch die häufigsten Gründe für fehlende Sichtbarkeit nach ihrer prozentualen Verteilung ausgewiesen und welche positiven und negativen Trends in den verschiedenen Märkten für die Mediaplanung zu beachten sind. Nicht optimale Positionen von Displaywerbung sind weiterhin die häufigsten Gründe für mangelhafte Sichtbarkeiten. Für Werbetreibende hält Meetrics Benchmarks für spezielle Branchen wie Automotive, Finance, FMCG oder Fashion bereit.

“Obwohl im Coronajahr 2020 die “Screentime” stark zugenommen hat, waren im vierten Quartal Platzierungen mit hoher Sichtbarkeit kein Selbstläufer und die Sichtbarkeitsraten sowohl bei Display- als auch bei Videowerbung rückläufig. Wer bei stark nachgefragten Werbeinventar seine Werbebotschaft abgesetzt bekommen möchte, der sollte seine Ad Verification-Maßnahmen darauf ausrichten,” erläutert Philipp von Hilgers, Managing Director & Co-Founder von Meetrics.

Die kompletten “Viewability Benchmarks”-Reports mit einer detaillierten Auflistung unterschiedlicher Banner-Formate stehen auf der Meetrics-Webseite zum kostenfreien Download zur Verfügung. In den vierteljährlichen Reports gibt Meetrics einen Überblick zu Sichtbarkeitsraten und durchschnittlichen Sichtbarkeitsdauern. Grundlage für die Meetrics Viewability Benchmarks ist die Richtlinie „50/1“ des IAB und des Media Rating Council (MRC). Demnach müssen mindestens 50 Prozent der Werbemittelfläche für mindestens eine durchgehende Sekunde im sichtbaren Bereich des Browsers gewesen sein. Bei Video Ads lautet die Empfehlung „50/2“, d. h. das Werbemittel muss mindestens mit 50 Prozent seiner Fläche für wenigstens 2 Sekunden sichtbar geworden sein.

Download Pressemitteilung

Rückfragen?

Meetrics GmbH – Headquarters Berlin
Alexanderstraße 7 · DE-10178 Berlin

pr@meetrics.com

Kontakt