12.10.2020
Meetrics Viewability Benchmarks Q3/2020:The increase in viewability rates of display and video advertising stagnated in third quarter

The viewability rates of display formats continued to rise in Germany but fell internationally. The international average for video advertising viewability remained high.

Berlin, October 12th, 2020 - After an increase in the first half of the year, video viewability rates remained high at 90 percent. Meanwhile, the average viewability of display advertising has dropped to 61 percent internationally. This is the result of the latest "Viewability Benchmarks" report published by Meetrics, the leading European measurement and analytics company for digital advertising. The benchmark report also includes a detailed overview of individual ad formats and benchmarks for other markets. The report shows common reasons for lack of visibility by percentage distribution as well as what positive and negative trends need to be taken into account on the different markets. Non-optimal positioning continues to be the most common reason for lacking ad viewability.

“The average video viewability is higher in comparison to display ads but differences in quality persist especially among video ad placements. These differences cannot be identified by observing video completion rates alone. The viewability must be measured over the full duration of the video in order to assure that the advertising message was effectively and reliably delivered." explains Max von Hilgers, Managing Director and Co-Founder of Meetrics.

The complete Viewability Benchmarks, including a detailed list of different banner formats, are available to download for free. In the quarterly reports, Meetrics provides an overview of Viewability rates and average Viewability duration. The basis for Meetrics' Viewability Benchmarks is the "50/1" guideline of the IAB and the Media Rating Council (MRC). Accordingly, at least 50 percentage of the advertising space must have been in the visible area of the browser for at least one continuous second. For video ads, the recommendation is "50/2", which means the video ad must have been visible for at least two seconds with at least 50 percentage of its area.

Download Press release

WOULD YOU LIKE TO CONDUCT AN INTERVIEW OR DO YOU REQUIRE FURTHER INFORMATION?

We’re happy to hear from you. 

Please confirm the reCaptcha function before sending the message.

Send
Jan Schütte
Senior Sales Manager

Meetrics GmbH – Headquarters Berlin
Alexanderstraße 7 · DE-10178 Berlin

12.10.2020
Meetrics Viewability Benchmarks Q3/2020: Im Gegensatz zu Display war Video-Werbung im dritten Quartal weniger sichtbar

Nach einer Steigerung in der ersten Jahreshälfte, sind die Sichtbarkeitsraten von Video Ads auf dem deutschen Online-Werbemarkt gesunken. Die Viewability-Raten für Display Formate befinden sich weiterhin auf einem Aufwärtstrend.

Berlin, 12. Oktober 2020 – Im dritten Quartal stieg die Sichtbarkeit von Display-Werbung weiter auf 64 Prozent an. Dagegen fällt die Sichtbarkeitsrate von Video Ads auf 91 Prozent. Dies ergibt der aktuelle Viewability Benchmark Report des führenden europäischen Mess- und Analyseunternehmens Meetrics. Der Benchmark-Report beinhaltet darüber hinaus eine detaillierte Übersicht zu einzelnen Ad-Formaten und Benchmarks für weitere Märkte. In dem Benchmark-Report werden auch die häufigsten Gründe für fehlende Sichtbarkeit nach ihrer prozentualen Verteilung ausgewiesen und welche positiven und negativen Trends in den verschiedenen Märkten für die Mediaplanung zu beachten sind. Nicht optimale Positionen von Displaywerbung sind weiterhin die häufigsten Gründe für fehlende Werbesichtbarkeit. Für Werbetreibende hält Meetrics Benchmarks für spezielle Branchen wie Automotive, Finance, FMCG oder Fashion bereit.

„Im Vergleich zu Display-Werbung ist die durchschnittliche Viewability bei Videowerbung zwar deutlich höher, aber gerade im Bewegtbildbereich gibt es deutliche Unterschiede in der Platzierungsqualität. Diese Unterschiede kommen bei der Betrachtung von Abspielraten allein nicht zum Vorschein. Man muss die Sichtbarkeit über die gesamte Dauer einer Videoanzeige messen, um sicherzustellen, dass Video Ads die Werbebotschaft verlässlich und effektiv übermitteln.“ erläutert Max von Hilgers, Managing Director & Co-Founder von Meetrics.

Die kompletten “Viewability Benchmarks”-Reports mit einer detaillierten Auflistung unterschiedlicher Banner-Formate stehen auf der Meetrics-Webseite zum kostenfreien Download zur Verfügung. In den vierteljährlichen Reports gibt Meetrics einen Überblick zu Sichtbarkeitsraten und durchschnittlichen Sichtbarkeitsdauern. Grundlage für die Meetrics Viewability Benchmarks ist die Richtlinie „50/1“ des IAB und des Media Rating Council (MRC). Demnach müssen mindestens 50 Prozent der Werbemittelfläche für mindestens eine durchgehende Sekunde im sichtbaren Bereich des Browsers gewesen sein. Bei Video Ads lautet die Empfehlung „50/2“, d. h. das Werbemittel muss mindestens mit 50 Prozent seiner Fläche für wenigstens 2 Sekunden sichtbar geworden sein.

Download Pressemitteilung

Sie haben Interesse an einem Interview oder benötigen weitere Informationen?

Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Kontaktaufnahme.

Bitte bestätigen Sie die reCaptcha-Funktion, bevor Sie Ihre Nachricht senden.

Absenden
Jan Schütte
Senior Sales Manager

Meetrics GmbH – Headquarters Berlin
Alexanderstraße 7 · DE-10178 Berlin